Night time

Wide awake at five past three
What on earth awakened me
Why can’t I sleep, why can’t I dream
This is my life now,…..it would seem
Days rolling into, the darkest night
Surely this,….can’t be right
The endless nights and days, That never end
The bad dreams, that the dark dous’t send
Wandering around the house at night
Trying to find that wayward light
The handles rattle, the handles turn
What is outside you have to learn
Your feet are cold,they freeze like ice
Someone shouts ! That can’t be nice
I was only lost, without the light
I didn’t need such a fright !
I just want to sleep and dream no more
Just let me through, sleep’s dark, large door
The door I look for every night
The Door that’s always just out of sight
Then I’m back in bed
You’re stroking my head
The woman from my dream
My darling wife It would seem !
© chrisroberts

Leave a Reply

